FAA AME Assisted Special Issuance (AASI)  Process

    The AASI is a process that provides the Airman Medical Examiner (AME) the ability to reissue  all classes of airman medical certificate to an applicant with certain disqualifying conditions after FAA approvalL.  At the time of the initial medical examination for a certificate the AME will do the exam, and forward the results and the diseases-specific information to the FAA or contact the FAA Regional Flight Surgeon for approval.  The FAA   provides the initial certification decision and the application is approved, additional information is requested,  or denied.  If the FAA approves the application, the Airman receives an authorization letter accompanied by an attachment that specifies the information that the applicant must provide from his/her treating physician(s) for recertification. When you return for the renewal of you medical certificate, you bring the authorization letter in, the required medical information, and if the condition has not changed and you are otherwise qualified the AME can issue the certificate. 

    These standards are current as of August  8, 2016, however may be updated at any time. To insure that you are being guided by the most recent  one clicking on one of the following conditions or diseases will take you directly to the FAA AASI Page for that particular disease or condition.  To return to this page please click you Browser Back  Button.


AASIs for all classes


Arthritis and/or Psoriasis




Atrial Fibrillation


Bladder Cancer

Lymphoma and Hodgkin's Disease

Breast Cancer


Chronic Kidney Disease

Migraine Headaches

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

Mitral and Aortic Insufficiency

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

Paroxysmal Atrial Tachycardia

Colitis (Ulcerative or Crohn's Disease) or Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Prostate Cancer

Colon Cancer

Renal Calculi

Deep Venous Thrombosis (DVT), Pulmonary Embolism (PE), and/ or Hypercoagulopathies

Renal Carcinoma

Diabetes Mellitus - Type II Medication Controlled (Not Insulin)

Sleep Apnea


Testicular Carcinoma

Hepatitis C



AASIs for Third Class

Coronary Heart Disease (CHD)  including::

Angina Pectoris
Coronary Bypass Grafting
Myocardial Infarction
Percutaneous Transluminal Angioplasty (PTCA)
Stent Insertion

Valve Replacement


Back to top


This page was last updated on 02/10/24